FDA Executive Committee

Your Executive Committee

The FDA's Executive Committee (EC) oversees that decisions voted upon at the FDA's Annual Delegate Conference (ADC) are carried out, as well as looking after the union's affairs between conferences.

The EC holds meetings with the General Secretary and other full-time FDA staff at least six times a year, to steer policy and represent their constituency.

Each year, before the ADC in May, elections for EC positions are held. Successful nominees are appointed for two-year terms.

Here we introduce your EC members, indicating the constituency each one represents. We current have one vacancy in each of the following constituencies:

  • Lawyers;
  • Statisticians (Stats); and
  • Managers in Partnership (MIP).

Executive Committee members as of 01 June 2015

Caroline Abel - Keystone
Caroline joined the FDA EC as a Keystone representative of the committee in July 2016. Caroline works as a Complaints Officer for Her Majesty Revenue and Customs.

Aidan Armitage - Keystone
Aidan works as a Policy Lead in the Department of Work and Pension in Leeds and has been a member of the Executive Committee since June 2016 representing Keystone interests.

Helen Baird-Parker - ARC
Helen became a member of the FDA EC in June 2015. She is a member of ARC committee and has previously been active in FDA's Lawyers and Women's networks.

Mike Buckley - Admin, Econ & Acc
Mike works at the Department for Work and Pensions  in the planning and performance management directorate's corporate performance team. He is secretary of the FDA's national branch for DWP.

David Cain - MIP
David is representing interests of NHS chief executives and directors to ensure fairness and transparency in dealings with Government. He is an experienced former NHS chief executive and a past member of the FDA NHS National Section Committee. 

David Chrimes - CPS
David is a barrister and Crown Advocate in the CPS, where he is the Deputy National Convenor. He has a keen interest in promoting equality and diversity and is the current Chair of the FDA Equality and Diversity Committee. David also sits on the TUC Disabled Workers Committee.

Philip Cummings - NIS
Philip joined the EC in November 2015 and represents the Northern Ireland Section.

Guy Davies - CPS
Guy is a solicitor employed as a Senior Crown Prosecutor for the CPS in Cornwall. He joined the Executive Committee in June 2016.

Phil Denning - Education Scotland
Phil joined the Executive Committee in 2013 and works for Education Scotland in Livingston.

Fiona Eadie - FDA Vice President
Fiona is a senior Procurator Fiscal depute and has full facility time as FDA Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service (COPFS) secretary in Fife.

Peter Green - Ofsted
Peter has been representing the Ofsted section on the EC since June 2016.

Stephen Head - CPS
Stephen is a solicitor employed as a Senior Crown Prosecutor for the CPS in Cymru/Wales. He is also the FDA Branch Convenor for the Cymru/Wales branch and the CPS Section National Health and Safety Officer.

Gareth Hills - FDA President
Gareth was ARC President from 2012 to 2014 and has worked in HMRC since 1986. He is a grade 6 and has held many positions at HMRC, which include dealing with large multinationals, stamp taxes, and investigating avoidance and became President of the FDA in June 2015.
Paula Houghton - ARC
Paula works for HMRC as a Training and Development manager, leading on Knowledge Management and Leadership. She is involved in Health and Safety and Equality and Diversity issues on FDA EC and ARC Committee.

David Howdon - Admin, Econ & Acc
David is an economic advisor in the Department for Work and Pensions, working on policy around the introduction of Universal Credit. He works with micro-simulation modelling to assess the impact of reforms to the benefit system

Vicky Johnson - ARC  President
Vicky is currently President of the Association of Revenue and Customs (ARC) which represents senior members of HMRC.  Vicky has been in HMRC (and one of its predecessor departments) for thirty years and has been a Tax Professional for most of that time.  Before she took over as President she was a Customer Relationship Manager in Large Business.

Phil Kennedy - MIP
Phil joined the Executive Committee in 2016. He is a senior manager at NHS South East CSU in Maidstone, Kent and has been a member of Managers in Partnership, the FDA's joint venture with Unison representing healthcare managers since 2007.

Tim Knight - Statisticians
Tim is a Statistician in the Department for Work and Pensions. Tim joined the EC in June 2016.  

Matthew Lounds - Diplomatic Services Association
Matthew works in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office's flexible projects team, the Projects Task Force. He's served in six UK missions in Europe, Africa and Latin America and has done five stints in Whitehall. Matthew is also chair of the Diplomatic Services Association, the branch of the FDA that he represents on the EC.

John McCullagh - Admin, Econ & Acc
John is the Assistant Head of the Armed Forces Pension Schemes for the Ministry of Defence. He has been a member of the EC since 2009 and was elected honorary treasurer in 2014. In addition to his financial duties, John has remained an active member of the Equality and Diversity sub-committee

Lorimer Mackenzie - Admin, Econ & Acc
Lorimer works for the Scottish Government as head of pay, conditions and workforce planning for NHS employees in Scotland. He is also the FDA 's pensions champion.

Lesley Malpas - Lawyers Network
Lesley joined HM Land Registry as a lawyer in 1997 having previously worked in private practice and for a local authority. She currently works with the Land Registry Corporate & Assurance Services team. Lesley is also the FDA Union Learning Champion.

Robert Marshall - Scottish Government
Robert is the Convenor of the Scottish Government Branch (including associated agencies & depts. (devolved and reserved)). A former lawyer in the UK Government, Robert now heads up policy delivery in respect of youth justice, Children's Hearings and Looked After Children. Robert is also the FDA's UK SCS Champion - focussing on talent/carer management.

Eugene Mitchell - ARC
Eugene is ARC's Treasurer. He became an FDA EC member in 2014.

Richard Mulcahy - Cymru Ddatganoledig/Devolved Wales
Richard joined the EC in June 2016 and works for the Welsh Government  He is current Branch Convenor on the Welsh Government FDA Branch Committee.

Lynda Priestley - Keystone
Lynda joined the EC in June 2016. Lynda currently works as a Readiness for Change Business Partner within the Transformation programme in HMRC.

Sofia Stayte - Admin, Econ & Acc
Sofia is Head of Fuel Poverty for the Department for Work and pensions. Before joinging the EC in June 2015 she was Deputy Convenor for the FDA DWP branch.

Jayne Thomas - MIP
Jayne became a member of the FDA EC in 2016. She is a member of Managers in Partnership, the FDA's joint venture with Unison representing healthcare managers.

Stephen Twigge - Culture 
Stephen works at the National Archives and joined the Executive Committee in 2016. 

Tony Wallace - FDA Vice President / ARC
Tony is a tax professional working as an Investigator in HMRC's Fraud Investigation Section, he has workerd for HMRC/Inland Revenue since leaving school in 1983.

Sam Wheeler - Fast Stream
Sam  joined the EC in June 2016 as the representative on the Committee for the Fast Stream. Sam is on his third year in the generalist Fast Stream programme

Ian Whittaker - Lawyers Network 
Ian works at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. He became a member of the Executive Committee in 2016.

Jason Wilde - Keystone
Jason joined the EC in June 2016 representing the interests of Keystone. Jason currently works as a Production Analyst in HMRC in Hull.